The weight of waiting

Have you ever prayed for something? I mean really prayed while you were waiting for an answer?

You read all the scriptures pertaining to that ‘thing’ you were believing God for, maybe even fasted but you find yourself still waiting. You even made sure to tick all the prerequisites for effective prayer, you asked in faith, your request was biblically supported, you prayed and even quoted scriptures like:

Philippians 4:6:

‘Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving make your requests known to God’.

Or

Psalm 20:4

‘May he grant you the desire of your heart and make all your plans succeed ‘.

So, you have done all that God has told you to do, but you are still waiting and your prayers are not answered……yet!

To make matters worse, it seems as though everyone around you is getting the very same things you have been praying for. You dread checking your social media feed because the thought of seeing another engagement announcement, wedding photo or job promotion is more than you can take. The ministry you know He promised you seems to be going nowhere fast and nothing is happening like you thought it would. You are so frustrated with God you can’t help but wonder, ‘has He forgotten me? Where did I go wrong? What should I have done differently? Does God know I am waiting on Him?

James 4:2

‘You have not because you ask not’

But Lord I have asked so why have I not received?

I, like you have experienced endless waiting and am still experiencing it. I have a few unanswered prayers that God has been silent about. I have been frustrated, I have cried, felt like giving up and have even felt bitter. However, recently after begging God for a word He led me to this scripture: Habakkuk 2:3 ‘For still the vision awaits it’s appointed time, it hastens to the end, it will not lie. If it seems slow, wait for it; it will surely come; it will not delay’.

God’s promises are sure, it may not come how or when you want it but it will surely come. And while you are waiting patiently on God’s timing, continue to thank Him for all He has done, all He is doing and all He is going to do.

Psalm 27:14

‘Wait on the Lord; be of good courage, and he shall strengthen your heart; wait, I say, on the Lord!’

Do not allow your season of lack to steal your joy so that you become hopeless. Take comfort in the knowledge that your father in heaven gives good gifts to those who ask Him.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Yes Lord and the longer the wait the more mind blowing it will be!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Maggie says:

    I can relate so well. Thank you for these words, I’m so encouraged. Y the Habakkuk verse ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kathrynclang says:

    I think that recognizing the weight of waiting will help to make the wait a little easier and the weight a little lighter 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Misty Moon says:

    A topic we all experience. Great read. I’ve been in God’s waiting room for over 3 months now. Doesn’t seem like a long time until you are the one doing the waiting. James 1:3 ” Knowing this, that the trying of your faith worketh patience.” Much patience brings great faith and great faith is necessary for great works.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kim Brown says:

    I found your article through Facebook. I really connected with it, as I have recently started blogging and it seems pointless some days. When I take these concerns to God, I feel Him saying “go write another blog.” lol. Then nothing really happens. It’s hard to reach others this way, so I am praying for patience and understanding. In God’s timing! Great article.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Bits & Pieces says:

      What’s the name of your blog?

      Like

  6. Mihaela Echols says:

    The other day a friend of mine said ‘God hasn’t answered any of my prayers’ to that I told her God might be wanting her to wait and she doesn’t like that answer or he might be saying no. God hears her he just might not be giving her the answer she likes so to that she finds him to be ignoring her.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Bits & Pieces says:

      Indeed. We prefer explicit responses such as ‘yes’ or ‘no’…the suspense and patience required to deal with a ‘not yet’ or ‘wait’ is usually where we trip up.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

