My heart condition

Create in me a clean heart, Oh God, and renew a right spirit within me.

I have a heart condition; now and then my heart attacks me. My heart wants one thing, but my brain and good sense want something totally different. I’m convinced that I have two brains, that’s the only explanation why my heart seems to have a mind of its own. It is so much easier sometimes to bring my thoughts and actions under subjection, but my heart seems to resent authority.

The heart is like an errant child who refuses to comply and stubbornly insists on its own way. Always it seeks to overrule good judgment, convincing with persuasive words that it’s way is better. It is deceptive, it cannot be trusted, and it is a receptacle for all things evil.

Proverbs 4:23

‘Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it.’

Solomon, the wisest man who ever lived, knew how easily the heart could be corrupted and in his wisdom warned us about the importance of guarding our hearts as it is the wellspring of all things. A careful examination of your thoughts provides the perfect litmus test to diagnose your heart’s true condition, no ECG needed. If thoughts of doubt, fear, unworthiness or condemnation plague you constantly, then you might be due for a check-up with the best cardiologist, Jesus Christ.

Like a sponge, the heart absorbs every negative word or experience we’ve ever had, and stores it until it becomes a putrid odour in our lives. It is like a cancer that if left untreated will affect our relationships, the decisions we make and will become a hindrance to us experiencing the peace and joy that Christ died to give us. Our heart is the seat of our emotions, who we are as individuals are determined by our heart’s condition.

Matthew 5:8

‘Blessed are the pure in heart, for they will see God’

It is not wrong to have feelings; however, when your feelings have YOU things can become dangerous because that is when your heart attacks. It’s not easy to purge our hearts of all the muck and sludge that has settled there; neither can we do it on our own. We need our heart surgeon to give us new hearts. Hearts that are filled with love and hope, hearts that do not harbor hurt, malice or envy; hearts that reflect Christ. We have little to no control over the hurt and pain that we experience throughout or lives, but with the help of God, we can control how we allow it to affect us. I pray today the He will give us a hearts of flesh that are pure and is a true representation of Him.

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Mihaela Echols says:

    This is such and important topic! I love the imagery in this post!

    Like

  2. kathrynclang says:

    I was just talking about this the other day – the heart is the center of man (so much more than just “feelings”). If I want to walk in the right way then I have to get my heart right first!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Akera Franklyn says:

    Amen. Well said!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

